Three centuries of Belgian stock exchange data

Activities - 

Conferences organised by SCOB




University of Antwerp, 23-24 May 2013

    As in Madrid (2009), Cambridge (2010), Paris (2011), and Bonn (2012), the fifth edition of the Eurhistock workshop provided a meeting point for financial and economic historians as well as financial economists interested in the long term changes of European financial markets. William N. Goetzmann (Yale School of Management) has held the keynote speech. PROGRAM : EURHISTOCK2013

Organising committee Jan Annaert (University of Antwerp), Frans Buelens (University of Antwerp), Erik Buyst (KU Leuven), Marc De Ceuster (University of Antwerp), Marc Deloof (University of Antwerp), Kim Oosterlinck (Université Libre de Bruxelles).

    SPONSORED BY LEO STEVENS, Schildersstraat 33, Antwerpen: (LEO STEVENS)

October 19-20, 2006 - International Conference on Long-Term Perspectives on Business, Finance and Institutions What Can We Learn from the Past?

Organised by:
The Studiecentrum Onderneming en Beurs - SCOB and the Centrum voor Bedrijfsgeschiedenis of the University of Antwerp, Belgium

The objective of this conference was to bring together recent economic and historical research that investigates the development of business and finance over the past centuries, how it interacted with legal, economic and political institutions, and the impact on economic performance. We welcomed a lot of contributions on accounting, business, corporate governance, finance and economic performance from a historical perspective. We welcomed also contributions that focused on the role of institutions, and contributions based on long time series analysis.

Keynote Speakers were:
Youssef Cassis, Université de Genève, Switzerland (to be confirmed)
Elroy Dimson, Business School, UK
Eric Ghysels, University of North Carolina - Chapell Hill, USA
Gregory Waymire, Emory University Atlanta - Georgia, USA

Scientific Committee:
Ludo Cuyvers (University of Antwerp) – Co-Chair, Greta Devos (University of Antwerp) – Co-Chair, Jan Annaert (Ghent University), Frans Buelens (University of Antwerp), Erik Buyst (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven), Kees Camfferman (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Marc De Ceuster (University of Antwerp), Marc Deloof (University of Antwerp), Abe de Jong (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Pierre-Cyrille Hautcoeurt (Ecole des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales - Paris), Helma Houtman – De Smedt (University of Antwerp), Kim Oosterlinck (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Julien van den Broeck (University of Antwerp)


The conference was organised by Marc Deloof. For any information on this past conference visit our website or contact Marc Deloof - Department of Accounting and Finance, University of Antwerp, Prinsstraat 13, 2000 Antwerp, Belgium - Tel: +32-3-220 41 69 - Fax: +32-3-220 40 64 - E-mail: